for soprano sax - 2015, ca 12 minutes

(click here for oboe version)


Composed originally for and premiered by Sarah K. Minneman.

Movement I "A Tune"

Movement II "Awaywe"

Movement III "Walk-Watch"

Movement V "Lost Before Time"

Movement IV "Parasparks"

click below to see score

program note

As I started writing this set of pieces for solo oboe, I noticed a strong tendency for my melody writing to outline various harmonic structures, such as chords and scales, instead of just being completely independent lines. This suggested the title. The individual movements are conceived as little vignettes in which ideas that could conceivably form longer pieces only last a short time, again suggesting only a partial picture.